RSS

Pink’s New Video about Suicide & Cutting among Young Girls

23 Jan

The singer Pink who is known for writing and performing empowering songs about young women’s lives has a new controversial video out. The song is called “Fucking Perfect.” You can click on the link below to watch the video.

From Pink’s website:

A Personal Note From P!nk:

I’m sure my newest video for “F**kin’ Perfect” will be much like some of my other videos, which basically means I expect it will ruffle some feathers.

My favorite books, art pieces, films, and music, always have something jarring about them. I want art to make me think.
In order to do that, it may piss me off, or make me uncomfortable. That promotes awareness and change, or at least some discussion.
That is my intention.
You can’t move mountains by whispering at them.

Cutting, and suicide, two very different symptoms of the same problem, are gaining on us. (the problem being; alienation and depression. the symptoms; cutting and suicide). I personally don’t know a single person who doesn’t know at least two of these victims personally. A lot of us have seen certain starlets showing off their latest scars on a red carpet somewhere, usually right before they head back to their favorite rehab.

Its a problem, and its something we should talk about.
We can choose to ignore the problem, and therefore ignore this video, but that won’t make it go away.
I don’t support or encourage suicide or cutting.
I support the kids out there that feel so desperate/numb/powerless, that feel unseen and unheard, and can’t see another way.. I want them to know I’m aware. I have been there. I see them.
Sometimes that’s all it takes.

Making this video was a very emotional experience for me, as was writing this song. I have a life inside of me, and I want her or him to know that I will accept him or her with open and loving and welcoming arms. And though I will prepare this little munchkin for a sometimes cruel world, I will also equip this kid to see all the beauty in it as well. There are good people in this world that are open-minded, and loving. There are those that accept us with all of our flaws. I do that with my fans/friends, and I will do that with my child, whoever they decide to be.

If you or someone you know needs help, please visit TWLOHA

What does everyone think about the video and the statement? Will this help young women who are feeling suicidal seek the help that they need? Or is the video doing more harm than good by wrapping the ending up in a neat little bow?

The young woman in the film seems to have sought no outside help for her issues. It appears that she meets a young man at the end of the video and is able to live happily ever after? What type of message is this really sending to young women in crisis? If you are suicidal, a kind boyfriend is the cure?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 23, 2011 in Art & violence, Media, Suicide

 

One response to “Pink’s New Video about Suicide & Cutting among Young Girls

  1. Julie

    January 31, 2014 at 4:40 pm

    I just recently learned that my 12 year old niece has been depressed and is now cutting herself!!! from which she learned from this video Pink made!!! This video was to help prevent and make awareness! It made awareness alright, it showed her how to cut! A 12 year old who didnt know what cutting is until she watched this video.
    I get Pink wants to help young girls, but shame on whoever thought of putting such graphics in a video. At 12 years old, their not focusing on lyrics, their singing and focusing on the video!!!! We come from a very strong family with lots of love and support. And I pray to God there isnt another little girl who watches this video and learn to cut.

     

Leave a Reply

 
